My Interview w/Mickey Factz for DRENCH magazine

March 4, 2008

Mickey Factz

Mickey Factz is an up-and-coming MC, who emerged from hip-hop’s birthplace (NY). With a style he has deemed “Uber Music,” his sound sticks out like sore thumb from the status quo of rappers. With all of this said, he’s still sifting through record label offers, trying to find the right deal. Will the Uber music reach it’s goal of global domination? Only time will tell.
 
DRENCH: I’ve discovered your music simply through searching somehwat new avenues that allow artists to get exposure (the internet in general, myspace, blogs, etc.). Do you think this new style of guerilla-marketing on the net is more of a gift or a curse?

MICKEY FACTZ: It’s definitely more of a gift. You have access to the entire world in front of you. That right there is amazing. Because of the internet, my reach has grown tremendously, allowing me to perform and travel as well as meet new people from all over the globe. And that’s absolutely perfect for me, especially with the global direction that I’m taking with my music.

DRENCH: Could you expand on the global direction you’re taking with your music? You’re like an “everyman” rapper, but I wanted to know if there was more to this…

MICKEY FACTZ: Ok, you know how the Dream Team was a team comprised of the greatest players in the country?

DRENCH: Yeah.

MICKEY FACTZ: The reason they put the team together was so they could be the greatest team in the world. Competing and performing for the entire world at the highest level possible. That’s what my global direction is. I’m not making music just for my man on the block. I’m making music for the kid in Iowa. His uncle in Idaho, and his distant cousin out in Bangladesh. At this point, Hip Hop needs to grow. I’m one of those dudes assisting in that process and I’m going to be the best at it.

DRENCH: I’ve put a few people onto your music before, and the first thing is they often ask me is how did you get your name, Mickey Factz? What’s the story behind it?

MICKEY FACTZ: Mickey Factz is a combination of two things. My first name derives from the movie Natural Born Killers’ character Mickey Knox. He was in love with Mallory and they did everything together, good and bad. He would’ve died for this woman. My Mallory is Hip Hop and Knox’s sentiments are the same as mine when it comes to her. Factz comes from what I talk about in my music. Everything that’s real to me. The z is just the rebellious side of me.

DRENCH: If you could describe how you rap in one word, what would it be?

MICKEY FACTZ: Extravagant. It’s breath taking, honestly.

DRENCH: Haha, that was pretty funny. What do you think is your best attribute as an MC?

MICKEY FACTZ: My best attribute would have to be my versatility. I could record a straight “traditional” hip hop record with Pusha T, record a rock record with Curtis Santiago, perform a house record at an all white club, and then step out and air a cipher out. So that’s my best attribute. Ever heard of a trick question? That was a trick answer. Haha

DRENCH: Your sound is definitely not conventional. What do you think contributes to that?

MICKEY FACTZ: It’s the fact that people are bored with the staleness in hip hop. It’s the same shit over and over and over. Recycled material. No substance. What I’m creating is a fusion between cultures and their sounds. And because I grew up listening to the pioneers and lyricists, that makes me that much better in satisfying the needs of all the lovers of our art.

DRENCH: If someone listens to your music, they can tell you’re into fashion (The Supra Song, etc.). Some people would even go as far as to say that fashion is like a 5th element of hip-hop…would you agree with that sentiment?

MICKEY FACTZ: Fashion and Hip Hop go hand in hand. If it wasn’t for Hip Hop a lot of brands wouldn’t be standing today. We as a culture have set standards and trends for many different companies. So yes, fashion is the 5th element of Hip Hop.

DRENCH: What do you believe is the most unlikely inspiration towards your music?

MICKEY FACTZ: I get my inspiration from the willldest places. The evolution of the world inspires me. Its crazy because I don’t just rap about one subject matter. I try to cover as many issues so that people can relate.

DRENCH: When everyone was younger, we all had a generic idea of what jobs would have when we got older (astronaut, cop, doctor, lawyer, etc.). What was yours?

MICKEY FACTZ: Haha, its funny you ask that because my dream was to become an astronaut. I told one of my friends and he blatantly killed my dream. His exact words were, “What happens if your helmet bursts open while your floating in space. You’ll die and float away and nobody would know.” Haha. The next day I picked up a pen started writing rhymes…Crazy but true.

DRENCH: You ever had a so-called “regular” job?

MICKEY FACTZ: I was a paralegal at a law-firm for about 5 years.

DRENCH: I understand you’re not signed yet? You been in talks with any labels so far?

MICKEY FACTZ: I’ve sat down with almost every label in the industry. I’m looking for the best home possible.

DRENCH: Could you specifiy on what label you’re leaning towards, or what?

MICKEY FACTZ: I’m leading towards the label that is working on new processes and innovative approaches in capitalizing on the marketing and distribution mediums that are out there and those to come in this growing age of technology. I want to go where the transition is taking place. I’m not concerned about being signed to a “name”…GFCnewyork is the name.

DRENCH: What places has rapping taken you to? And where do you expect it to take you in the future?

MICKEY FACTZ: My artistry has taken me to China, Hong Kong, Miami, Texas and so forth. This year I plan on going to France as well as doing some more touring within the states. Its shaping up to be a very eventful year.

DRENCH: What’s your favorite place that you’ve performed so far outside of NY?

MICKEY FACTZ: Favorite place has to be Houston, TX. Everytime I go out there, its nothing but automatic love soon as I hit the stage.

DRENCH: What’s the wildest thing you’ve seen in your travels from touring?

MICKEY FACTZ: The wildest thing I saw was when I was in China and seeing the effects of communism and how it has taken its toll on the nation. I don’t think anyone has ever seen one strip in a city that looks like Times Square, 5th Avenue, Hunts Point in the Bronx and a poverty stricken town in Africa- all on one block! So I saw lights, the Louis Vuitton store, prostitutes/pimps and huts with poor people in it. Sad but true.

DRENCH: Is the groupie thing all it’s cracked up to be?

MICKEY FACTZ: Groupies are great, aside from the stigma they have. Their very loyal and I appreciate all of them.

DRENCH: What’s this groupie stigma you speak of, haha?

MICKEY FACTZ: The sexual favors. We all heard the stories of those. Honestly, I don’t want the chicken pox on the D. So when it come to groupies I show love and respect.

DRENCH: Do you hope to branch out in other areas besides music?

MICKEY FACTZ: I plan on having other businesses. As well as investing in properties and the financial markets.

DRENCH: How’d you link up with RockSmith Clothing?

MICKEY FACTZ: My firm GFCnewyork does creative consulting for them. So it was given that we’d work on the music end eventually. Especially since they’re a music inspired line.

DRENCH: I’m sure you’ve brushed shoulders with a couple of big names in the industry by now. You ever been starstruck by someone?

MICKEY FACTZ: Its funny. I’ve met a lot of people and been in the studio with some big names. But because of my roots, when I saw Rakim perform in boston for free. I was in awe and starstruck. I think the only other stars I’d do that with would be Denzel Washington and Stevie Wonder. 2 amazing figures in their respectable fields.

DRENCH: The phrase, “your favorite rapper’s favorite rapper” is thrown around quite a bit in the rap game…who’s your favorite?

MICKEY FACTZ: Jay-Z. Hands down. He’s amazing.

DRENCH: You ever meet Jay-Z?

MICKEY FACTZ: No, not yet but I’m sure I will in the near future.

DRENCH: What do you think was the last “great” moment in history of hip-hop music?

MICKEY FACTZ: Nas and Jay-Z on the same stage. That right there was the ending of a great battle between two great artists.

DRENCH: Do you think the general state of hip-hop is headed in a positive direction? How so?

MICKEY FACTZ: Hip Hop will always be a positive platform. If you hear a rapper talking about guns and drugs in his raps and how’s he’s killing. I’d hope to believe he’s seen this carnage to be able to express it. It’s up to the the communities to do something about what’s going on. As far as topic wise, hip hop is definitely going into a more positive direction and I’m one of the guys at the fore front of that.

DRENCH: What’s your favorite body of work in music?

MICKEY FACTZ: Wow. That’s a 5 way tie between: Michael Jackson’s “Thriller,” Stevie Wonder’s “Songs In the Key of Life,” John P. Kee’s “Not Guilty,” Jay-Z’s “Volume 1: In My Lifetime,” and Telepopmusik’s “Genetic World.” Those are all great bodies of work in my opinion.

DRENCH: Any people you wanna’ give a shout out to?

MICKEY FACTZ: Shout out to drench mag and GFCnewyork.

Links to Mickey Factz:
www.myspace.com/itzmickey
http://www.gfcny.blogspot.com
Download Mickey Factz latest mixtape, “Heaven’s Fallout,” for free at http://www.gfcny.com!

Leave a Reply

